Remarkable Quote on Cultural Dimensions

As I did some researches for my report at school, I came across a very good book called “Masculinity and Femininity: The Taboo Dimension of National Cultures” by Geert H. Hofstede, a renown Dutch anthropologist whose main works involve the cultural and organizational behaviors. As the title stated, the book discussed about one of five Cultural Dimensions proposed by Hofstede; Masculinity and Femininity. I will not describe the detail here as it is the objective of this post. (Those who are interested in the Cultural Dimensions may find a concise description at the following link: Clearly Cultural.) When I finished reading this book, I was so impressed with the closing remark of the book that I decided to share it with everyone here. The text is clear by itself and need no explanation.

“Nations in the world have become more and more interdependent, and violence has become a less and less effective way of resolving international problems. There is no substitute for listening to and talking with others, and for trying to understand the reasoning and motives of people whose mental programs differ. This means understanding one’s own mental programs, including the taboos of one’s culture, because taboos that some hold and others do not indicate values gaps to be bridged for a common future”

If you are interested in this book, you may check it out at your local library or take a preview on line at Google by clicking here.

3 Responses to Remarkable Quote on Cultural Dimensions

  1. mb says:

    hey, i just saw your comments on my blog πŸ˜‰

    so you like hofstede, hm? then i am happy to have it shown to you. did you really read the entire book? how many hours does one day for you have? 36? πŸ™‚

    m.

  2. Sunny says:

    Mr. M.B.,

    Yes, I like the book, especially the closing remark I quoted here. Well, I finished reading the book in a day. As I told you, I am a fast reader.

    πŸ™‚

  3. mb says:

    remarkable

