Beowulf – Digital 3D Experience

Beowulf

 

© 2007 Paramount Pictures

 

I have just been back home from the special screening of Beowulf in full Digital 3D experience at Regal Lloyd Center 10 Cinema in Portland, Oregon. The movie will be officially released in the States on Friday November 16, 2007. Fortunately, I had a chance to watch this fantasy movie in 3D. With innovative technology of Digital 3D shooting and processing, the film literally comes to live before my eyes. I could hear the sound of “Uhh” and “Ahh” from the fellow audiences as early as the beginning of the film when I saw the stars and the mountain in Paramount Pictures logo poking my eye. Even though the film was depicted in computer graphic animation style (as you could see in Final Fantasy films), the movie was so realistic and breathtaking with fantastic eye-popping special effects and some humors here and there which could compromise the usual predictable plot.

Based on the epic English poem with the same name, Beowulf is an epic fantasy movie using a fantastic motion capture technique to render eye-popping image sequences. The film was directed by the well-known and award-winning American director Robert Zemeckis, whose previous works included Back to the Future series, Forrest Gump and Cast Away. The cast of the film was also interesting and full of powerful actors including Ray Winstone, Anthony Hopkins, Robin Wright Penn, John Malkovich and Angelina Jolie.

All in all, this is a fine movie experience. In fact, the latest TIME Magazine (Asian edition) mentioned Beowulf as a breakthrough in the usage of technology in entertainment of the year 2007 and the film truly lives up with its expectation. Check the following link for the article: TIME Magazine – Don’t Flinch

4 stars out of 5 – check out the film in real Digital 3D experience if possible, I guarantee you that it’s worth your every cent.

Related Links

2 Responses to Beowulf – Digital 3D Experience

  1. codoblao says:

    this movies just premiere in my town, thx for the review.. so i have a refference what movie to watch this week

  2. tok07 says:

    Oh… I love Robert Zemeckis But when I saw new movie (The Polar Express) I’m Boring….

    P.S. 3D??? I not Money enough 555+

