Powell’s City of Books

Now that I’ve been in Portland for a couple of days, my most favorite spot in town is a bookstore called Powell’s City of Books which is claimed to be one of the largest new and used bookstores in the world, occupying a whole city block between NW 10th and 11th Avenues and between W Burnside and NW Couch Streets with approximately 6,300 square meter of retail floor space. With tonnes of books, used and new, in all categories you could think of, it’s a heaven for book-lover like me. There is also a coffee house in the store where you could pick up some books to read while zipping freshly brewed coffee. I could spend a whole day in the store reading my favorite books and I did! Unfortunately, I’ve got a tight schedule coming up this week and next week as the Fall term of my study here at Portland State University will start. I might have to wait till everything is settle to enjoy reading books at Powell’s. Well, at least I find my best spot in town to hang out on my free time.

 

Related Links

One Response to Powell’s City of Books

  1. cotton says:

    It sounds really good, zipping a cup of coffee while reading my favourite book. I really like that environment, like to spend my whole day there and also hopefully I can own that kind of bookshop someday. No need to be big, just small and comfortable bookshop with nice coffee smell. ^^ just a dreamer!

