Greetings from Portland

Dear friends and fellows, this is my first blog update in the United States. Yeah, I arrived in the U.S. safe and sound. Even though a long hour flight and waiting was tiresome, I managed to stay fit and fine. I flown directly from Bangkok to Los Angeles via a 15-hour flight operated by Thai airways international. After a long line at the U.S. immigration, I had to wait 8 hours in the airport for the connecting flight to Portland. And here I am presenting you my little journal online.

Portland is the largest city in the state of Oregon, located in the Pacific Northwest region of the United States. The city is famous for its rose gardens, thus it’s commonly known as “The City of Roses.” For the past 2 days that I stayed, the weather was the only thing that troubled me most. It’s cold at night and in the morning, sunny in the afternoon and showering in the evening. Well, I guess I will have no other choices but to get used to this kind of weather. Other than that, everything is great. The city is lovely and systematically planned with lot of green spaces. It’s convenient to get around downtown and beyond with the city’s efficient and sophiticated public trasportation system called TriMet. Last but not least, all the people I’ve met so far are very nice and generous to me. I have to thank all of them to make me feel like home here in Portland.

P.S. Thanks everyone for your best wishes in my previous post. I also would like to express my gratitude to those who saw me off at Suvarnabhumi airport last Friday. All of you meant a lot to me, indeed!

10 Responses to Greetings from Portland

  1. kiro says:

    Glad to hear that. I hate long flight as well, I can not get in sleep on the plane,too noisy and hard to breath.

    For me,the biggest problem is language, but I dont think it’s yours= =cause your English is so pro +_+0

    and I’m sure that you will miss your hometown food soon :P. You can cook by yourself or go to a Thai restaurant, but they’re still different.

    third,now it’s not the coldest season there, maybe you need a heater in Winter.

    everything is not easy at beginning, you can handle it 🙂

  2. Sunny says:

    kiro, thanks for your good will.
    Yeah, there are lot of things I have to learn and adapt myself to new environment. So far, it’s been fine thanks to all good people I’ve met. 🙂

  3. JOJO says:

    รีบเรียนให้จบแล้วรีบกลับมานะ จะรอเที่ยว

  4. Sephiroth says:

    สวัสดีครับน้อง Sunny

    ขอให้ประสบความสำเร็จ เรียนจบไวๆ มีโอกาสคงได้เจอกันอีก รักษาสุขภาพด้วยนะครับ

    P’Birth

  5. Sunny says:

    To those with bad intention to spam my blog with vulgar words,

    Unfortunately, all comments are moderated so your post will not be shown.

    I felt sorry for your mental illness. You had better go visit a psychiatrist for treatment.

  6. Snoopy says:

    Wow.. what a surprising update from you!! Had P’Art not mentioned about this in his email, I would have thought you’re still working in BKK. Now I’ve got one good reason to visit Portland for the first time. =)

    BTW, do you know P’Tai (Napong Panitantum)? He’s in Corvallis, though.

  7. Sunny says:

    Snoopy, thanks for your comment as well

    It’s been a long time since I last talked to you. I hope you are fine and happy down there in California. Yeah, you are very welcome to visit Portland. I will find some times to visit you too. 😉

  8. Ple-Kobe says:

    hope everything is great for you there ka. ^-^

  9. Jeep says:

    It sounds like you are very fine and happy with the new environment. Please update your life frequently. I love to hear your story from email. Best wish.

  10. Sunny says:

    Thanks Nong Ple and Jeep. Hope you all are doing fine as well.
    🙂

